Styles that are Trending

Have you ever found yourself in a position in which you know you want to redo a space, you’re looking for something different, yet you have no idea which direction you should take?

Going on a “window shopping” tour of your favorite stores, is a sure way to experience the new fashions, the new decor, the new cosmetics, etc.  Stepping out of our own four walls, into the world of retail can be eye-opening, refreshing, exciting, and even therapeutic.

I must admit that I have come up with some of my best decorating ideas, by simply walking into a lingerie, hobby, or even a toy store. As I walk around, I pay attention to the lighting, the colors, and even the fixtures used.  I also pay close attention to what exactly was it that caught my eye.  What was the first thing I saw, that made me walk into the premises to begin with. Was it the chandelier in the back? Was it the color combination of the fixtures versus the color on the walls?  Keep in mind that every single color, texture, fixture, accessory, and furniture was chosen by a professional interior designer. Someone who knows and understands color and texture, and the best use of space.  So in a way, it’s like getting advice from an interior designer, without the hefty consultation price!

Another favorite past-time of mine is going to the movies. While everyone else is enjoying the dramatic twists and turns, I soak up the visuals of the window treatments, furniture, linens, lighting and accessories used in scene after scene.  My husband and I have a joke about our movie going experience. He’ll  say something like “don’t ask her what the movie was about, she won’t be able to tell you a thing; but she will relay every drape, lamp, and color used on the walls in every room of that house!” My answer to his joke is “hey, don’t knock it! I just got a 2 hour room consultation for under 15 bucks!”

This article is taken from my original blog: http://www.decor8yourlife.com/styles-that-are-trending.html written on 01/18/2014.

Subscribe to my youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/snagel2012 for DIY, design inspiration, and free giveaways.

Check out this video! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oyAMhv70LlU

Leave a Reply

